Search Button
Home > Who we are
Who we are

CRESSE Scientific Committee

CRESSE is a Network of academics and professionals, practicing in Competition or Regulatory Authorities, Consultancies and Legal Practices, with an interest in Competition Policy and Sectoral Regulation. It was initiated and founded by Prof. Yannis Katsoulacos in 2005. The specific format and content of the CRESSE Summer School and Annual Conference has been influenced by the suggestions and ideas of a large number of people. Special mention should be made of Prof. Joe Harrington,  Prof. Massimo Motta, Prof. Patrick Rey, and Prof. D. Ulph.

The objectives of CRESSE are fourfold:

to organize an annual Conference in which the latest research in the areas of Competition and Regulation is presented and discussed;  
to organize an annual Summer School in which Visiting Faculty from a large number of European and US Universities, give the opportunity of high quality training to practitioners of competition policy and sectoral regulation that wish to be acquainted with the new economic literature and the recent legal developments;    

(iii) to organize an annual Lawyers Course in which a Course on "The Role of Economics in Competition Law and Practice" is taught by some of the foremost competition economists in the world targeted to legal experts (lawyers, enforcers or judges) practicing in competition law or in another field of law in which knowledge of economics is helpful;
 to disseminate research and contribute to the public debate in the areas of competition policy and regulation through the organization, in cooperation with Competition Authorities throughout the world, of Review Workshops, Round Tables  and Conferences.


Responsible for day-to-day management is Prof. Yannis Katsoulacos (AUEB).            

Conference and School Scientific Committee

The CRESSE Scientific Committee consists of
Prof. Joe Harrington, Business Economics and Public Policy Department, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania (2010 - ), Prof. Patrick Rey, University of Toulouse (2006 - ), Prof. D. Ulph, University of St. Andrews (2006 - ), Dr. P. Regibeau, Charles River Associates (2006 - ), Prof. Thomas Ross Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia (2014 - ) and Prof. Yannis Katsoulacos, AUEB (2006 - ), who also acts as Chairman and Coordinator. Prof. Massimo Motta (Barcelona Graduate School of Economics) was a member of the Scientific Committee from 2006 – 2010.

CRESSE Advisory Board
The Board consists of individuals of outstanding reputation in competition law and policy.

The Members of the Board are:

Prof. Frederic Jenny
(ESSEC Business School; Chairman of the OECD Competition Committee)

Prof. William Kovacic (The George Washington University Law School, former Federal Trade Commission Chairman) 

Prof. Aviv Nevo
(The Wharton School and Dept. of Economics, University of Pennsylvania, former Chief Economist at Antitrust Division of Dept. of Justice)

Prof. Howard Shelanski
(Georgetown University, formerly Director of the Bureau of Economics at the U.S. FTC and Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs)

CRESSE Associates
International network of prominent scholars, policy makers and practitioners in Competition Policy and Regulation that are involved in the Summer School, the Lawyers’ Course and / or the Conference as regular participants and provide a channel between CRESSE and the academic, policy and consultancy community.

CRESSE Associates (Academics – Economists)
Prof. John Asker, Prof. Heski Bar-Isaac, Prof. Gregory Crawford, Prof. Claude Crampes, Prof. Vincenzo Denicolo, Prof. Federico EtroProf. Amelia Fletcher, Prof. Chiara FumagalliProf. Christos Genakos, Prof. Elisabetta Iossa, Prof. Katernia Kyriazidou, Prof. Kai-Uwe Kuhn, Prof. Leslie MarxProf. Peter Mollgaard, Prof. Juan-Pablo Montero, Prof. Fiona Scott MortonProf. Volker Nocke, Prof. Dan O' Brien, Prof. Martin Peitz, Prof. Michele PoloProf. Eduardo Pontual Ribeiro, Prof. Maarten Pieter Schinkel, Prof. Giancarlo Spagnolo, Prof. Yossi Spiegel, Prof. Rune StenbackaProf. Guofu Tan, Prof. Tommaso Valletti, Prof. Frank Verboven, Prof. Thibaud Verge, Prof. Nikolaos VettasProf. Glen Weyl, Prof. Julian Wright, Prof. Guangliang Ye.

CRESSE Associates (Law, Policy and Practice)
Mr. Tembinkosi Bonakele, Dr. Cristina Caffarra, Dr. Jet Deng, Prof. Damien Geradin, Prof. Ioannis Kokkoris, Dr. Assimakis Komninos, Prof. Ioannis Lianos, Dr. Frank P. Maier-Rigaud, Prof. Philip Marsden, Dr. Liberty Mncube, Dr. Jorge Padilla, Prof. Daniel Sokol, Prof. Dimitris TzouganatosDr. Keith Waehrer.

CRESSE actively collaborates with a number of institutions... more details

Fellowships from CRESSE Summer School Partners

Summer School News
Conference News
Lawyers Course News
Previous Slide
Next Slide
Sponsors Contact Us
Welcome   Summer School    Testimonies
Who we are   Lawyers Course   Photos
Faculty    Conference    Event Synopses
Scientific Committee   Call for Papers    Application Forms
Associates   Training Activities   Links
Contact Information:

CRESSE Secretariat
Athens University of Economics and Business
76 Patission str., 104 34 Athens GREECE

Tel.: +30 210 8203348
Fax: +30 210 8223259
Copyright © Cresse Designed and Developed by eBOS Technologies
powered by